#BlogBlitz #Review ~ The First One To Die by Victoria Jenkins @vicwritescrime @bookouture

Four friends. A house full of secrets. And a killer picking them off one by one…

‘She tried to break her fall, twisting desperately, but there was nothing to catch hold of, nothing with which she could stop herself. Her single scream cut through the night air.’

One hot summer night, a young woman falls from a rooftop to her death. Detective Alex King is called to the quiet terraced street.

The victim, Keira North, was twenty, happy and carefree. It seems like an accident, but there’s broken glass on the carpet, and witnesses overheard an argument. Could someone have wanted her dead?

Keira’s friends don’t seem as helpful as Alex would expect and the post-mortem reveals that Keira was hiding a secret: she was five months pregnant. Alex’s team soon finds that all of Keira’s closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep.

As Alex realises Keira might be just the first victim on a list, her leads take her a bit too close to home. With her own demons to fight, can Alex catch the killer, before someone else dies?

The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

Amazon UK Amazon US

About the Author

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband in South Wales, where she writes crime fiction and teaches English. The Girls in the Water is her debut novel, the first featuring Detective Inspector Alex King and Detective Constable Chloe Lane. The second book in the series will be published in late 2017.

Facebook Twitter

My Review

I’m beginning to think the covers of Victoria’s books alone should speak for themselves. This one is every bit as delightful as the previous book, The Girls in the Water which I read and enjoyed. So it was great to catch up with the female duo King and Lane in The First One To Die. We had a lot of detailed background on these two detectives in the first story so I would recommend reading that to achieve a greater understanding.

This time it is slightly more focused on the crime rather than family issues although they are still covered. I like the balance here and fairly flew through the pages. The First One To Die has all the makings of a brilliant slasher ‘movie’ as soon as a body appears you know you are going to have the secrets, lies, false leads etc and the author has a knack of keeping the reader guessing. 

If you like unravelling mysteries that are tense and gritty look no further.

Another fabulous offering in this series and I’m sure book three will ramp up another notch.

Thanks to the author, publisher and netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.

Advertising Spaces Available on the Blog! #Authors #Bloggers #Publishers #Editors #ProofReaders #Designers etc. Full details Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *