#BlogTour #Review ~ A Wedding in Italy by @TillyTenWriter @Bookouture

Sun, spaghetti and sparkling prosecco. When it comes to finding love, there’s no place like Rome… 

Kate is living the dream with her gorgeous boyfriend Alessandro in his native city, but the reality is sometimes a little less romantic than she’d hoped. Every day in her new home is a fight against leaking pipes, her cantankerous landlord and her less-than-perfect grasp of the Italian lingo. 

All around her there is talk of weddings, but when a secret from her past is thrust out into the open, Kate must fight to prove to Alessandro’s Mamma – and the rest of his formidable family – that she truly is Italian marriage material. 

With the women in Alessandro’s life on a mission to break them apart, the cracks begin to show and Kate starts to question if Alessandro really is the man of her dreams. Can love and the city of romance conquer all, or is that just a fairy-tale?

Let Rome steal your heart this summer in this gorgeously romantic escapist read. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Abby Clements.

 Amazon UK
Amazon US

  • Paperback: 330 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (14 April 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1786811677
  • ISBN-13: 978-1786811677

About the Author

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage.  Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, like The Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.
 
My Review
The beauty of a book by Tilly is you know you are in for a treat before you even begin. She has a natural storytelling ability that makes you want to curl up and go to wherever she is writing about.
 
This time it’s a follow on from Rome is Where The Heart Is, Kate is now living in the city, is keen to set up a business but has meagre savings a dingy flat and frankly needs a job to survive. But love should conquer all, right?
 
She is with Alessandro whom she adores but she also faces language barriers, his family, religious differences all meddling with her relationship.
 
The Conti family is a large one and Kate has to deal with them all. She gets along with most of his sisters but Maria is intent on splitting them apart, she feels Alessandro would be much better off with her friend Orazia who fancies the pants off him.
Mama Conti cannot accept her darling son will marry an English girl who is divorced!
 
Poor Kate has to run the gauntlet of acceptance .. she longs for her own family to support her but of course they are in another country.
I love Rome so this book feeds my desire for the atmosphere as well as all the food, great descriptive writing, don’t read if you are hungry!
 
I liked Kate and Alessandro and certainly didn’t envy them having to cope with such an extended family … a great story of family squabbles, twists and turns and plenty of entertainment for an ideal summer read.
My thanks to Tilly, Netgalley and Bookouture … I read and reviewed this voluntarily. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *