#BlogTour #Review ~ Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson @JoGustawsson @OrendaBooks @annecater

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina. Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea’s. Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Hebner will do anything to see himself as a human again. Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald? Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea’s friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light. Plumbing the darkness and the horrific evidence of the nature of evil, Block 46 is a multi-layered, sweeping and evocative thriller that heralds a stunning new voice in French Noir.

WINNER: Nouvelle Plume D’Argent 2016
For fans of The Missing, Dominique Manotti, Camilla Lackberg, Stieg Larsson

Purchase Here

  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: Orenda (15 May 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1910633704
  • ISBN-13: 978-1910633700

About the Author

Born in 1978 in Marseille, France, and a graduate of Political Sciences, Johana Gustawsson was a journalist for television and French press. She now lives in London, England.

Website

Twitter

Facebook

My Review

It’s always exciting to be part of a blog tour where the book is so highly regarded, knowing before you begin reading that others have loved it. I’m always dubious in case I don’t ‘get’ those same feelings but Block 46 possibly exceeded my expectations!

It is a gruelling read, hard hitting, emotional, gruesome but oh SO compelling. Once I started reading this I resented any interruptions. Cleverly set in two timelines, present day and 194o’s and covers London, Sweden and Germany.

There are murdered children, and a woman .. could they be linked? Is there a serial killer on the loose and how do any of these events connect to the Buchenwald Concentration Camp from years ago?

Emily a profiler works closely with the police along with Alexis a crime writer but also the friend of the murdered woman. Between them the story grips you by the scruff of your neck and doesn’t let go! 

The segments set in Buchenwald were harrowing but incredibly fascinating. I have always shown an interest in the holocaust and this takes you to the centre of the horror. It is written so beautifully for such a tragic subject, hauntingly enthralling. Erich is a prisoner in the camp, he got under my skin and I desperately needed to know what happened to him.

Emily is an interesting character and it opened my eyes too the intense work and thought processes required to do that job. Johana manages to combine so many clues to form a tremendous ending without revealing too many secrets. It has been translated from French by Maxim Jakubowski  superbly which lets you read it flawlessly.

If you like crime, thrillers, history and have a strong stomach then this undoubtedly will be a best-seller. I can’t wait to see what the author produces next.

My thanks to Johana and Orenda for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *