#BlogTour #Review – Death in Shanghai by M.J Lee #Giveaway

Death

Shanghai, 1928. The body of a blonde is washed up on the Beach of Dead Babies, in the heart of the smog-filled city. Seemingly a suicide, a closer inspection reveals a darker motive: the corpse has been weighed down, it’s lower half mutilated…and the Chinese character for ‘justice’ carved into the chest.

The moment Inspector Danilov lays eyes on the dismembered body, he realises that he has an exceptional case on his hands. And when the first body is followed by another, and another, each displaying a new, bloody message, he has no option but face the truth. He is dealing with the worst kind of criminal; someone determined, twisted…and vengeful.

Someone who must be caught….whatever the cost.

Death in Shanghai is the first novel in M J Lee’s Inspector Danilov series, perfect for fans of Philip Kerr.

Buy Amazon

Goodreads

Death1

About the author:

Death2

Martin has spent most of his adult life writing in one form or another. As a University researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites.
He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.
Whilst working in Shanghai, he loved walking through the old quarter of that amazing city, developing the idea behind a series of crime novels featuring Inspector Pyotr Danilov, set in 1920s and 30s.
When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, taking pleasure in playing with his daughter, practicing downhill ironing, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney.

Twitter

Website

 

My Review

1920’s Shanghai makes an interesting location for this debut novel by MJ Lee. Full of intrigue, eerily haunting, tense & atmospheric a fine story in which we are introduced to Danilov, a Russian police officer who is intent on finding the killer lurking in the city.  Working alongside the younger Strachan they make a good team.

 
The bodies start amassing & it is imperative they piece the clues together to prevent any more deaths. Some of it is gruesome & made my stomach roll but the descriptive writing is fabulous. It kept me glued to the page & I wanted to keep reading ‘just a little bit more’ in order to find out what happens.
 
Danilov was forced to leave his family behind as he escaped Minsk & has no idea if they are still alive .. he struggles with his emotions & relies on opium. Strachan is determined to make his dead father proud so there is a basis on which to continue this series (hopefully) so we can delve more into their complex lives. 
 
Plenty of colourful characters populate the storyline & it is clear life in that era was not easy for many of them .. all-in-all a highly enjoyable book.
Thanks to the author & Jenny @Neverland Tours for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest opinion. stars-4-0._V192197091_

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *