#BlogTour #Review ~ Ella’s Ice Cream Summer by Sue Watson @bookouture @suewatsonwriter

Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons… make icecream!

Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her.

Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family icecream business: a clapped-out icecream van and a complicated mess of secrets.

There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time.

Ella’s IceCream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.
UK  Amazon UK
US  Amazon US
About the Author

Sue Watson was a journalist on women’s magazines and national newspapers before leaving it all behind for a career in TV. As a producer with the BBC she worked on garden makeovers, kitchen takeovers and daytime sofas – all the time making copious notes so that one day she might escape to the country and turn it all into a book.

After much deliberation and copious consumption of cake, Sue eventually left her life in TV to write.  After a very successful debut novel, Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes Sue signed with Bookouture.
 
 
 
My Review

If the cover of this book doesn’t call out to you then frankly there is something wrong! As soon as I saw it and the title it was a foregone conclusion, it had to be read. It was a gloomy, rainy day when I settled down to enjoy ‘Ella’s IceCream Summer’ and it couldn’t have come at a better time.

Full of humour, told in such a way that you become involved in the overall hubbub of the family.

Ella feels life is passing her by, the sprogs are vacating the nest, the ex-Dick (lol) is busy with his new woman, her eccentric mother is busy sexting the vicar, her friend is incapable of stringing a sentence together without mixing her words erratic/erotic you get my drift.

So when good old Aunt Sophia leaves Ella an Ice-Cream van (Reginaldo) as her inheritance the option to change direction kinda appeals. So against mother’s wishes due to a bit of a family rift involving aunt, cousin,mother off she goes to adventures and pastures new. 

The extreme characters all gel into a splendid mix of hilarity and you can’t help but like them all. The Ice-Cream is to die for, the setting of Appledore in Devon is the dream summer location evoking pleasant childhood memories.

Superb story involving  family, mid-life, mystery, it’s up-lifting with a feel-good factor an absolute joy to read. I’m already looking forward to the next book.

Many thanks to Bookouture/Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *