#BlogTour #Review ~ The Silent Children by @carolewyer @bookouture #PublicationDay

I’m absolutely thrilled to be alongside Kaisha from The Writing Garnet today as we kick off another fabulous blog tour for the lovely Carol Wyer .. once again this lady has excelled and delivered a chilling thriller 🙂 xx

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

 🇬🇧 Amazon UK  🇺🇸 Amazon US

About the Author


Carol E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully. More recently she has chosen to write for the “dark side” and embarked on a series of thrillers, starting with the gripping best-seller, Little Girl Lost.

Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ‘Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.
Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to the Website or follow Carol on Twitter
My Review
So after waiting patiently for The Silent Children to arrive, I’m like a kid on Christmas Eve, desperate to open it, but know once I have that element of delicious surprise has gone and I have to begin, sometimes the waiting is almost as good as the story. Detective Robyn Carter is one of my favourite book characters ever, I have grown to admire her, love her and feel the need to know what is happening in her life. So much has happened during the previous stories in this series .. now we are on book four.
After the ending that shook my world in the previous book, I did wonder how Carol could possibly keep delivering the sheer intensity, but she does. 
Once again Robyn is at the helm of murder investigations with very few clues, when more than one body is discovered it’s up to her to figure out if there is a link. The content of The Silent Children is dark, cloying and not necessarily an easy read. 
I like the mix of deep despair during working hours which then switches to Robyn’s personal life. Valentine’s Day rears it’s head in this one along with a possible surprise. For anyone who has read them all you will understand the complexity of Davies and the effect he has on her. I was delighted to see Schrodinger arrive I think that could be just what is needed in Robyn’s life .. 
I think I have made it clear during previous reviews how much I love this series, so all I need to say is read it. I thought I was going to have a fairly sedate wait until the next book but oh no Carol once again leaves us with an ending that needs answers .. aaargh. Just don’t keep me waiting too long please.
Thanks as always to the author, publisher and netgalley. I read and reviewed voluntarily.
Advertising Spaces Available on the Blog! #Authors #Bloggers #Publishers #Editors #ProofReaders #Designers etc. Full details Here

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review ~ The Silent Children by @carolewyer @bookouture #PublicationDay

  1. Ali, I can’t thank you enough for this wonderful review and for kicking off The Silent Children tour and being part of publication day.

    You have started off the day in the best possible way.

    xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *